Fuji 27mm f/2.8 First Impressions

I got the Fuji 27mm. Why? Because it was on sale now for only $200! Also, after reading the comparison between the X100s and the 27mm at FujivsFuji, the 27mm seemed like a more economical choice for me.

The X100s is my baby, and I love that camera. The X100 was my first “real” camera, and I cut my teeth on it. I mainly do portraiture now. My Fuji X-E1 with the 35mm is my main system for that. My X100s is now used for events, snapshots, travel, etc.

I compared the size between the X-E1 with the 27mm and X100s. The X-E1 seemed a tad bit bigger. I think they both can fit into my coat pocket with ease.

What do I lose if I decide to go with the 27mm and sell my X100s? I would lose the leaf shutter, the quietness, ND Filter, phase detect pixels, OVF, aperture ring, and a stop of light. Honestly, none of those matter to me.

Leaf Shutter and ND Filter. 

The benefits of the Leaf Shutter is the quiet shutter and the fast sync speed. I rarely use my flash outside in the desert at high noon. 1/180 second sync speed is enough for me at the studio. So I have no need for the leaf shutter or the ND filter.

Phase Detect and Autofocus Speed

I did a bunch of AF tests with my Fuji X100s, and the X-E1 with the 27mm. Using the middle focus point with the biggest focus window, the X100s blew away the X-E1. But I rarely use it that way. I move my focus points around a lot, and I use a smaller window for critical focus.

When I use the outer AF portions and a smaller AF window, the AF speed seemed about the same. Sometimes, it felt like the X-E1 was faster. For my use, the AF doesn’t seem improved with the X100s.

OVF

It’s been months since I used the OVF for the X100s. I use the back LCD most of the time anyway. Heh, maybe I should just get the X-M1 instead. So the OVF isn’t important for me. I won’t even miss it. In fact, I find it a gimmick in the X-Series cameras.

Aperture Ring and One Extra Stop of Light

Okay, I’ll  miss those. I love the aperture ring. But using the wheel on the back isn’t too bad. I can get used to it.

The One Extra Stop of Light is what I’ll miss the most. Then again, with the X100s, the softness at 2.0 annoys me at times. So I stop up to 2.8 or higher anyway. I only go to 2.0 if the venue is dark. Also, the X-E1 has a pop up flash. I’ll just use that if I need to illuminate the scene.

What Will I Do Now?

I’ll put the 27mm through its paces and see if it performs as well as my X100s. I’m sure it will. I’ll be selling my X100s soon. I’ll miss it.

Leave a Reply

