Photographers Shooting Model and Creepiness

I posted on a Facebook group how all male photographers who shoot models are creepy (me included). And a bunch of photographers got their panties in a bunch. Then again, they probably would’ve loved to have the panties of the models they shoot. I kid, I kid. 

I was joking when I made the comment. But I was amused that a lot of people got offended by my remark. Yes, I do know that not every male photographer is a creep. There are guys who genuinely want to not appear like a horny, creepy dude with a camera. And there are guys who do this for the love of the art of shooting half-naked hot chicks.

However, when I saw how many people got upset over my comment, I realized that they are an insecure bunch. Maybe they are actually creepy. Maybe the truth hurts them.

I accept that I may look dumb, creepy, desperate, or weird to the models I shoot. I don’t care. I have more things to worry about than what some 19 year old chick thinks of me. I’m more concerned about them liking my images more than how I portray myself to them. And no, I don’t act like a creep, or try not to. I try to be as professional as I can. But if I give off that vibe, oh well. It certainly doesn’t hurt Terry Richardson, who is the ultimate scumbag, creepy photographer who shoots models. 

Also, guys have to realize that if you’re an old, geeky dude shooting chicks half their age, that’s going to look creepy no matter what. It’s something that’s not going to go away. Sure not everyone is going to think that, but there will be a lot of people that will. 

For instance, I had a chat with a co-worker who was talking about his friend who shot high school senior girls. And he told me how creepy that was. I looked at his pictures, and the pics looked innocent. I told him he was probably practicing. But my co-worker was adamant that it made the photographer look creepy. 

Anyway, don’t worry about what some Asian, amateur photographer thinks. Own that you photograph chicks. Who cares?

So go ahead and take close up pictures of nipples. Go ahead and make your facebook profile picture you groping 2 models in bikinis who are half your age. Go ahead and take a pic of a model with their legs spread wide, make it black and white, and call it, “art.” Go ahead and demand all models you shoot to be nudes, lingerie, or swim suit because that’s your “style.”  But accept it that maybe somebody will think that’s a bit creepy. 

Here’s a creepy pic of me. 

Leave a Reply

